Creating a Characteristically Complete Brand

When was the last time you had a grand all paid vacation that you reminisce still today?

Each one of us, if lucky, have got ourselves that one vacation, which we remember throughout our lives. I want to focus upon that all one-paid vacation away from your home country, which started making an impression right from the moment you alighted from the aircraft!

I had one such vacation in Cheju Island, Korea, which has been etched in my memory permanently. Why? Because the moment I left the aircraft, and walked toward the immigration, it was a complete take-over of all my worries. Consider this:

  • A man from the hotel was seen standing on the other side, with a placard of my name.
  • Once I signalled him, he managed to come near the counter, greeted the immigration officer with a bow and smile, and explained my guest visitor status.
  • He guided me to a taxi at the airport’s arrival exit gate, prepaid the fare, and saw me off.
  • The driver took us through a long drive to the city, reached hotel, and managed our luggage into the reception counter.
  • Another man greeted us, and took us to our room, greeted us a good evening, and disappeared.
  • After an hour the intercom rang and the lady on the other side offered light supper options of Indian, Continental, Arabic, Asian and American cuisine.
  • The next day an early call reminded of our breakfast which starts and finishes very early.
  • By 10 am, another man called from the reception and was ready to take us around on an excursion.

This type of guided comfort and relaxed interaction continued over the 3 nights 4 days of our stay.

It was over only when we landed at our home destination, and received a text message greeting us back to our country, followed by call at the baggage counter, just making sure if we got our luggage right!

Now, I know for sure, many of you would say it’s fiction! But, the best part is that it did happen, and the best of the guided holidays still happens this way, even to this day!

No wonder, the Hospitality brand which took care of the whole experience is also the best known one in the whole of South East Asian belt, most awared one, and a real-life example of a Total Branding in action. Click on this link to read the rest…

About shantanu.sengupta
I am a seasoned marcom professional, with nearly 3 decades of industry experience in Insights driven Strategic Marketing, Project Management, Industry Research & Analysis and Client Management in India & Middle East. I offer a good understanding of the young, multicultural, tech-driven and ‘glocal’ consumer segments. With a child-like curiosity, I like to immerse myself in the interests and aspirations of the 'digital-first' generation. I have mixed working knowledge in consumer goods & durables plus retail & services categories, through brands like LG, Sony, Samsung, Malaysia Tourism, Kohinoor, Leela & Fortune Hotels, B-Bar, JK Lakshmi, Relaxo, Sensodyne, Philips Lighting, City Centre (Dubai), Oman Air, etc. I am a firm believer and practitioner of collaborative / participatory leadership styles that promote Innovation culture, and thrive in working among newer categories / cultures / markets.

Leave a comment